spools of thread

With the electricity out last week I had plenty of time to straighten and clean the studio. So with a lot of old thread on hand I gave each spool the strength test: take an 8″ length of thread, tie a knot in the middle, give a gentle tug and if it breaks it is not strong enough for sewing.  They all failed.

These empty spools will be repurposed in ArtBreak this fall at school, or maybe used to hold lengths of ribbon and string. The old wooden ones are nice objects, especially the orange Belding Corticelli.

About Katherine Ziff

I live in Athens, Ohio where I am a clinical mental health counselor, writer, and exhibiting artist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to spools of thread

  1. Debrah says:

    Ms Kate !! You are full of wonderful information. I totally forgot about the test my Home Economics teacher drummed in our heads but then that has been 44 years !!!

  2. katherine ziff says:

    Debrah I still remember my teacher’s instructions on how you should break an egg into a small bowl before adding it to your mixing bowl with everything else in case it is bad. I think we have fewer bad eggs nowadays. The thread tip is from Barry’s Workshop at the Atlanta Sewing Center: http://www.atlantasewing.com

Leave a Reply

