hand sewing

Foundation 40BIn my home studio I have been doing some hand sewing inspired by the Alabama Stitch Book, see www.alabamachanin.com  Even though I have been sewing for a long time, taught first by my mother and grandmother and then my high school home economics teacher, Natalie Chanin has tips from basic to advanced that were new to me.

I made this piece using a foundation garment embellished with calico from The Fabric Shop in Pomeroy, Ohio. The laces, ribbons, buttons and fake fur are thrift store finds. It is in the Athens Voices show that opens tonight at The Dairy Barn, here in Athens, Ohio.

About Katherine Ziff

I live in Athens, Ohio where I am a clinical mental health counselor, writer, and exhibiting artist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

