the shelf

colorsThis week I learned, again, that the best things happen when you let them.

Early in January I noticed a mauve colored pine shelf  a couple of hallways over in my school with a sign on it inviting someone to take it. No space in my room, too bad. The shelf sat there, and sat.

A couple of weeks later I heard a sliding sound along the carpet outside my room. Looking out the door I saw the shelf. Hmmm.

IMG_0376When that day’s ArtBreak group gathered in my room a child gestured to the shelf and remarked “we could paint that.” Someone had just given us a new tub of bright red Blickrylic paint – perfect.

I set out the paint and new brushes and the group fell to work with enthusiasm, occasionally bursting into a pop song new to me, something about life is beautiful. The following week they decided to add all kinds of bright designs.

Turns out the child who proposed painting the shelf had masterminded the project, organizing a couple of classmates to slide the shelf outside my room, quietly suggesting the idea and then painting with focus and care. The shelf now brightens up the hallway outside the ArtBreak room.

IMG_0374

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to the shelf

  1. Emily says:

    This is great! Love it!

Leave a Reply

